Pirelli Motorsport UK Welsh Rally Championship 

Rallying, Motorsport

  • Gardener Digs In For Wet Weather Win

    Despite heavy overnight rain that produced treacherous conditions for competitors, Shaun Gardener made it back to back maximum points scores in the Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship, leading home the series contenders on the Winner Garage Skoda Wyedean Stages Rally.
    The Ludlow driver and co-driver Ben Innes headed the Championship cars throughout the event in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 5.9.2. Second place went to Worcester pairing Paul Davy and Roger Allan in their Subaru Impreza while Andrew Jones and Keaton Williams took their Mark 2 Ford Escort to third.
    Absentees Luke Francis and John H Roberts had already secured the overall driver and co-driver titles but the lower positions were still up for grabs. Sixth place points were just enough for Surrey’s Wug Utting and co-driver Bob Stokoe to claim the overall runner-up spot. Third in the driver standings was secured by Andrew Jones while Mark Glennerster finishes third among the co-drivers.
    While outgoing Group N champions Paul Davy and Roger Allan took maximum points on this event, Utting and Stokoe secured the title for less modified cars. The absent Andy Davies and Max Freeman take second place while completing the drivers’ Group N Championship podium is Simon Dalton. Roger Allan finishes the season as third placed Group N co-driver.
    Andrew Jones takes the two wheel drive honours along with the Vital Equipment junior title for drivers under 25. Rear wheel drive honours go to Flying Kiwi Boyd Kershaw and Tim Cains takes the front wheel drive title. Top two wheel drive co-driver is Caron Tomlinson. He takes the place by just a single point from Richard Crozier while Martin Griffiths and Richard May take rear and front wheel drive honours.
    Rhydian Price and Jake McKenna complete the Junior driver top 3 while Max Freeman heads the Vital Equipment Junior co-driver standings despite missing the rally. Just one point back, in second place, comes Simon Jones who misses out on the title after finishing behind Keaton Williams on the event. Ahead of Williams and third in the end of season standings is Chris Davies.
    McKenna and Price take the drivers’ titles in Class 2 and 3 respectively with Cal McElhinney and Claire Williams heading the class co-driver standings. Bob Vardy and Rhodri Evan are top C lass 4 driver and co-driver while the honours in Class 5 go to Hywel Davies and Richard Crozier.
    In Class 6, it’s Gavin Edwards and Bryan Hull who take the laurels with Colin Griffiths and Emyr Hall picking them up in Class 7. 
    The hotly contested class 8 goes to Dylan Davies who finishes a single point ahead of Simon Thomas, while Mark Williams is top co-driver.
    Despite retiring from this event, Martyn England wins Class WRC1 with Mark Glennerster top co-driver.
    Arwel Jenkins will take the crown as leading Class N3 co-driver while top driver and co-driver in Class N4 are Andy Davies and Max Freeman.
    Speaking after the rally Championship Co-ordinator Dave Evison commented, “I would like to thank all the competitors, event organiser and marshals who have supported us throughout the season. In particular, I would like to thank everyone involved in making the final event of the year a success in very difficult conditions.”
                                                                        -     Ends     -
    Issued 13th November 2016
     Credit for the attached photographs given to rallysportmedia.com
    Issued by Peter Hughes Media on behalf of the Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship
  • Championship 2021 Calendar

    The 2021 Championship will consist of eight rounds many featuring some of the best stages Wales has to offer. The calendar will see some changes from previous years, with the best six scores to count, the series will begin in April whilst the last round takes place in late October as event organisers work around the challenges enforced by the pandemic.

    The first two rounds will be in Mid Wales, Rallynuts Stages, 17th April, followed by the Plains Rally, 22nd May. The championship then moves to South Wales for the third round The Red Kite Stages on the 13th June, before travelling to Dolgellau, North Wales for Round 4 Rally North Wales on the 26th June.   

    As the championship moves into the second half of the season its back to Mid Wales for the Nicky Grist Stages on the 10th July, then to Ludlow for Round 5, the Woodpecker Stages 4th September. The penultimate round will be on the 16th October in the Forest of Dean for Wyedean Rally, 16th. The championship concludes on the 30th October with the Llandudno based Cambrian Rally.

    Confirming the calendar Dave Evison, Championship Secretary, commented, “As an organising team we are delighted to be able to once again offer our competitors the opportunity to tackle some of the best gravel stages in the country, Dave together with Will Rogers, have been working hard to offer contenders a professional yet friendly championship with great competition, increased media coverage and live updates provided by Howard Davies, expect further announcements soon. Meanwhile there are exciting plans for Under 25 competitors with a test in a Hyundai R5 car. The prize is on offer in conjunction with OnThePaceNote and PCRS for the winning U25 driver. This together with access to the popular Specialist CPM Training days available during the year. 

    The championship promoters, the Welsh Association of Motor Clubs, have confirmed that contenders who registered in 2020 will have their fees rolled over into 2021. However, as with any new contenders they will still need to register on-line. This will be available in the near future and will be found under the competitor’s section of the championship website together with the 2021 championship regulations.


    Event Date          Event                          Organising Club

    17 April               Rallynuts Stages         Midland Manor Motor Club          

    22 May                Plains Rally                 Knutsford & District Motor Club            

    13 June               Red Kite Stages           Amman & District Motor Club Ltd  

    26 June               Rally North Wales        Wolverhampton & South Staffs Car Club           

    10 July                Nicky Grist Stages        Quinton Motor Club Ltd

    4 Sept                 Woodpecker Stages      Sixty and Worcestershire Motor Club     

    16 Oct                 Wyedean Stages           Forest of Dean Motor Club Ltd

    30 Oct                  Cambrian Rally             North Wales Car Club