Pirelli Motorsport UK Welsh Rally Championship 







    A second successive maximum points score means that Scott Faulkner leads the 2019 Pirelli Motorsport UK Welsh Forest Rally Championship by a single point as the series reaches its Halfway stage.

    Having taken top points score on the previous round, the Rallynuts Stages, a similar performance on the weekend’s Plains Rally, organised by Knutsford and District Motor Club, moved Scott clear at the top of the table while co-driver Gareth Parry moves into second place overall in his part of the Championship.

    From the start in Oswestry, competitors tackled five special stages in Dyfnant, Aberhirnant and Llangower. Scott and Gareth took the lead among the championship contenders on the opening stage ahead of Russ Thompson and Andy Murphy in a similar Group N specification Mitsubishi Evo IX. Third place was held by joint series leaders going into the event, Matthew Hirst and Declan Dear but they would be among a number of competitors to suffer punctures in stage 2, Aberhirnant 1.

    That promoted Richard Hill and Patrick Cooper to third place in their Subaru Impreza although they conceded it to the Mark II Ford Escort of Ieuan Rowlands and Emyr Hall on the following stage. Hill and Cooper reclaimed the position on the following stage, holding on to it to the finish.

    Fourth place was enough to ensure that Matthew Hirst left the event just one point adrift of Faulkner while his co-driver Declan Dear continues to lead that section of the Championship two points clear of Gareth Parry.

    Another strong run in the Historic specification Ford Escort means that former series leader Tom Llewellin lies in third place, four points off the lead.

    Faulkner and Parry also lead the Group N Championship, five points clear of Surrey based duo Wug Utting and Bob Stokoe in their Subaru Impreza.

    Tom Llewellin leads the driver standings in the two-wheel drive section from Chris Powell and Perry Gardener although it was Callum Black and Michael Gilbey who took top two-wheel drive points for the second event running in their MG ZR. Top two-wheel drive co-driver is Jim Lewis ahead of Caron Tomlinson and Keaton Williams.

    Tom Llewellin also tops the junior drivers category from Gethin Price and Zak Hughes. Leading the junior co-driver standings is Tom Murphy with a five point advantage over both Keaton Williams and Rhys Stoneman.

    It is Llewellin as well who leads the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge for drivers ahead of Perry Gardener and Tony Simpson. Heading the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge for co-drivers is Tom Murphy from Keaton Williams while Ian Bevan and Tom Woods are in joint third place.

    The next round of the Pirelli Motorsport UK Welsh Forest Rally Championship is the Red Kite Stages. Based in Resolven in the Neath Valley and organised by Amman and District Motor Club, the event takes place on June 23rd.

    You can find out more about that event on their website, www.redkitestages.co.uk and about the Championship at wnrc.wamc.org.uk, on the Championship Facebook page and on Twitter @WnRC.


  • Competitors in the 2019 Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship tackle the third round in the series, the Rallynuts Stages this weekend (13th April)with the first two rounds, the Cambrian Rally and Rally North Wales having produced strong results from some of the younger championship contenders.

    It’s 18-year-old Tom Llewellin, driving a Mark 2 Escort, who currently heads the overall driver standings while 2018 Junior champion Matthew Hirst bounced back from a non-finish on the opening round to claim his first ever overall rally win on Rally North Wales. The Mitsubishi Evo IX driver now shares second place with another Escort driver, Damian Pratts, ahead of Hywel Davies and round one winner Russ Thompson.

    Both Tom Llewellin and Matthew Hirst will come to the event fresh from participating in one of the Championship’s programme of training days for Junior competitors which was held at the Sweet Lamb Complex last weekend. 



    Jonny Tad Evans tops the co-driver standings with Declan Dear in second place and Mark Glennerster third.

    The Group N standings are headed by Fiesta ST duo Rhydian Price and Stephen Brown, but they are just two points ahead of Round 2 winners Wug Utting and Bob Stokoe and opening round victors Russ Thompson and Andy Murphy.

    The two-wheel drive category is supported by Motorsport retailers LightningHouse and Racewear manufacturers HRX and has attracted strong entries, producing hard fought battles already this season.

    Top of the drivers’ table is Tom Llewellin, ahead of Damian Pratts with Hywel Davies third. There are plenty of other two-wheel drive competitors who will be looking this weekend to force their way into the top placings. Among them are Escort pilot Owen McMackin, BMW driver Colin Griffiths and Hillman Avenger specialist Barry Jordan.

    Just two points separate the top three in the two-wheel drive co-driver standings, Jonny Tad Evans leading the way from Ian Jones and Simon Jones.

    Tom Llewellin leads the Junior driver category from Gethin Price and Zak Hughes, while Rhys Stoneman is currently top junior co-driver ahead of Tom Murphy and Will Atkins.

    It’s also Llewellin who leads the drivers section of the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge with a three point advantage over Damian Pratts. Hywel Davies is a further five points back in third place.

    Jonny Tad Evans tops the co-driver standings from Ian Jones and Simon Jones.

    Competitors on the rally, organised by Midland Manor Motor Club, will leave the start at the Royal Welsh Showground from 8:30 am to tackle a total of six special stages. Full spectator information can be found on the event web site, rallynutsrally.co.uk while you can learn more about the Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship on their website, wnrc.wamc.org.uk, on the Championship Facebook page and on Twitter @WnRC.

    -     ENDS     -

    Issued 9th April 2019


    Credit for the images  rallysportmedia.com

    Issued by Peter Hughes Media on behalf of the Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship