Pirelli Motorsport UK Welsh Rally Championship 

Competitors in the 2019 Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship tackle the third round in the series, the Rallynuts Stages this weekend (13th April) with the first two rounds, the Cambrian Rally and Rally North Wales having produced strong results from some of the younger championship contenders.

It’s 18-year-old Tom Llewellin, driving a Mark 2 Escort, who currently heads the overall driver standings while 2018 Junior champion Matthew Hirst bounced back from a non-finish on the opening round to claim his first ever overall rally win on Rally North Wales. The Mitsubishi Evo IX driver now shares second place with another Escort driver, Damian Pratts, ahead of Hywel Davies and round one winner Russ Thompson.

Both Tom Llewellin and Matthew Hirst will come to the event fresh from participating in one of the Championship’s programme of training days for Junior competitors which was held at the Sweet Lamb Complex last weekend. 



Jonny Tad Evans tops the co-driver standings with Declan Dear in second place and Mark Glennerster third.

The Group N standings are headed by Fiesta ST duo Rhydian Price and Stephen Brown, but they are just two points ahead of Round 2 winners Wug Utting and Bob Stokoe and opening round victors Russ Thompson and Andy Murphy.

The two-wheel drive category is supported by Motorsport retailers LightningHouse and Racewear manufacturers HRX and has attracted strong entries, producing hard fought battles already this season.

Top of the drivers’ table is Tom Llewellin, ahead of Damian Pratts with Hywel Davies third. There are plenty of other two-wheel drive competitors who will be looking this weekend to force their way into the top placings. Among them are Escort pilot Owen McMackin, BMW driver Colin Griffiths and Hillman Avenger specialist Barry Jordan.

Just two points separate the top three in the two-wheel drive co-driver standings, Jonny Tad Evans leading the way from Ian Jones and Simon Jones.

Tom Llewellin leads the Junior driver category from Gethin Price and Zak Hughes, while Rhys Stoneman is currently top junior co-driver ahead of Tom Murphy and Will Atkins.

It’s also Llewellin who leads the drivers section of the RAVENOL Welsh Challenge with a three point advantage over Damian Pratts. Hywel Davies is a further five points back in third place.

Jonny Tad Evans tops the co-driver standings from Ian Jones and Simon Jones.

Competitors on the rally, organised by Midland Manor Motor Club, will leave the start at the Royal Welsh Showground from 8:30 am to tackle a total of six special stages. Full spectator information can be found on the event web site, rallynutsrally.co.uk while you can learn more about the Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship on their website, wnrc.wamc.org.uk, on the Championship Facebook page and on Twitter @WnRC.

-     ENDS     -

Issued 9th April 2019


Credit for the images  rallysportmedia.com

Issued by Peter Hughes Media on behalf of the Pirelli MotorsportUK Welsh Forest Rally Championship